When mileage is added to a shift either through the mobile app or when creating/editing the shift in the web app, you can control whether or not the client is invoiced for that mileage, while still keeping mileage on the shift for timesheet purposes. There are two ways of doing this:

  1. You can set a default for each client on whether or not they should be invoiced for mileage

  2. If you are a pro or premium account user you can actually override the client's default when creating or editing a shift.

This means you can control whether a client is invoiced for mileage independent of whether you want to include mileage on your staff member's timesheet. This can be particularly useful if a client does not have mileage included in their plan and service agreement, but you still want to ensure your staff are reimbursed for their mileage.

Setting a default for invoicing mileage to a client

For each client you can set a default on whether or not mileage is included in their invoices. This means, if a client doesn't have mileage in their plan, you don't have to worry about making sure any of their shifts accidentally have mileage included.

This is done in the Settings section of the Client's details page, using the check box option called Invoice travel km:

Important note: The impact of changing the default will occur on any shift created after the change. For example, if the client's default was to invoice for mileage and you change the default to invoice for mileage then for any shift created before the change (including shifts that are in the future) then the client will still have mileage included in their invoice for the shifts, but for any shifts created after the change in the default then the client will automatically not have mileage included in their invoices for those shifts.

Overriding the client's default setting at the shift

Please note: this is for accounts on the Pro and Premium plans only

While having a default setting for a client provides efficiency when scheduling shifts, we understand flexibility is important. That is why you can override whether or not a client is invoiced for mileage on a particular shift.

This is done in the advanced edit mode of a shift, under the Shift settings section:

When you create a shift, the shift will automatically adopt the client's default settings, and you will see the client(s) who have the default setting to invoice for mileage selected in the Invoicing of mileage option.

If you want to override if a client should or shouldn't be invoiced for mileage you can use the Invoicing of mileage drop down selector:

  • If you want to change a client from not being invoiced mileage to being invoiced for mileage then their name will appear under not to invoice and just need to click on their name to move them to invoice

  • If you want to change a client from being invoiced for mileage to not being invoiced mileage then their name will appear under invoice and you just need to click on their name to move them to not to invoice. Alternatively you can click the little cross next to their name in the option box.

Whoever is selected in the Invoicing of mileage option will be invoiced for mileage regardless of the default selection for the client. Likewise, if a client is not selected, even if their default is to have mileage included in their invoice, then they will not be invoiced for mileage.

Did this answer your question?