Change

Those familiar with the previous workflow, will know two cancelled statuses which are changing:

  1. Cancel - this becomes Cancelled by us, without charge

  2. Absent - this becomes Cancelled by client

New Cancel Shift Workflow

Overview

When a shift is cancelled you can choose whether you want to cancel the shift and charge the client, or cancel the shift and not charge the client.

You will find the option to cancel the shift with the shift open and the blue More actions button is clicked.

Selecting Cancel provides two options:

  • Cancelled by client - used when charging the client - this also means the staff member is paid.

  • Cancelled by us, without charge - for use when the client is not charged, the staff member will not be paid.

Cancelled by us, without charge

This shift is cancelled:

  • the client will not be billed for this.

  • the staff member will not be paid for this.

  • the app will show the shift as being cancelled.

The "Cancelled by us, without charge", will be shown in orange with the shift type crossed out.

Cancelled by client

This shift is cancelled:

  • the client will be billed for this.

  • the staff member will be paid for this.

  • on the app, if all clients on the shift are cancelled, the app will show the shift as cancelled. If there is one or more clients not cancelled the app will list the shift as booked (or pending if there is an issue with the shift).

If the shift is cancelled with late notice for example and you want to pay the worker and the bill the client you can select the "Cancelled by client" option.

The cancelled shift will be shown in yellow.

The shift history will capture the reason provided.

Rebook - to rebook the shift, simply open the shift and click the "Rebook this client" button under the client's name.

Where there are multiple clients, the option to select which client to apply the cancellation to will be available.

Notify carer

The notify option will send the staff member assigned an email and an in-app notification of the cancellation.

In the app, at this time the shift will be shown as follows:

  • Cancelled by client: Listed as booked

  • Cancelled by us, without charge: Listed as cancelled

The reason is captured in the shift history

The shift history will capture the reason provided.

Former - Cancel Shift Overview

When a shift is cancelled the assigned carer won't receive payment for that particular shift. If the client has a late cancellation for example, then you can mark the shift as client absent to allow the carer to receive payment as normal.

Cancel a shift because client absent

Navigate to scheduler view, find the shift in question and click the shift to view its details. A quick way to locate the shift would be to search for the carer in the search box.

When viewing the shift's details click More actions then click Cancel.

Further reading

Did this answer your question?